[NU Sports] Virus
Carl Rossi
carljrossi at gmail.com
Fri Dec 18 11:40:42 CST 2009
Amen:)
Let's hope he's also smilling sometime around 2 PM Eastern Time on
1/01/2010...
On Fri, Dec 18, 2009 at 9:16 AM, Scott Zeller <scottzel at gmail.com> wrote:
> Somewhere in the afterlife, John DeGroat is having a good laugh, being
> able to rile up the list one last time.
>
> On Fri, Dec 18, 2009 at 8:40 AM, Mike Nolan <nolan at romaine.tssi.com>
> wrote:
> >> I did not find a virus in the mail, and FWIW John's widow's name was
> Gail,
> >> maybe she had a laptop with our list and in a panic sent the request to
> the
> >> whole address book multiple times.
> >
> > The text of that email is virtually identical with others I have seen and
> is IMHO
> > a 'phishing' attempt. Many of the ant-spam/anti-virus engines will label
> everything a
> > 'virus' even if it is technically some other kind of threat.
> >
> > The first time I saw it it even supposedly came from someone who was
> known to be travelling
> > to the foreign city that was cited, an interesting coincidence.
> >
> > Based on the headers, I don't believe it came from Gail or John's
> computer but was forged
> > to appear to come from John's email address.
> >
> > How John's email address got in the hands of the sender of that note is
> unclear.
> > --
> > Mike Nolan
> >
> > _______________________________________________
> > nwu-sports site list
> > nwu-sports at tssi.com
> > http://romaine.tssi.com/mailman/listinfo/nwu-sports
> >
>
> _______________________________________________
> nwu-sports site list
> nwu-sports at tssi.com
> http://romaine.tssi.com/mailman/listinfo/nwu-sports
>
More information about the nwu-sports
mailing list