[NU Sports] Virus

Scott Zeller scottzel at gmail.com
Fri Dec 18 11:16:27 CST 2009


Somewhere in the afterlife, John DeGroat is having a good laugh, being
able to rile up the list one last time.

On Fri, Dec 18, 2009 at 8:40 AM, Mike Nolan <nolan at romaine.tssi.com> wrote:
>> I did not find a virus in the mail, and FWIW John's widow's name was Gail,
>> maybe she had a laptop with our list and in a panic sent the request to the
>>  whole address book multiple times.
>
> The text of that email is virtually identical with others I have seen and is IMHO
> a 'phishing' attempt.  Many of the ant-spam/anti-virus engines will label everything a
> 'virus' even if it is technically some other kind of threat.
>
> The first time I saw it it even supposedly came from someone who was known to be travelling
> to the foreign city that was cited, an interesting coincidence.
>
> Based on the headers, I don't believe it came from Gail or John's computer but was forged
> to appear to come from John's email address.
>
> How John's email address got in the hands of the sender of that note is unclear.
> --
> Mike Nolan
>
> _______________________________________________
> nwu-sports site list
> nwu-sports at tssi.com
> http://romaine.tssi.com/mailman/listinfo/nwu-sports
>



More information about the nwu-sports mailing list